A lot of employees who are injured at work are nervous about their independent medical exam. One of the most common questions we get is: can an independent medical exam report make you go back to work after sustaining a work injury?
The Short Answer
No, the Independent Medical Exam (IME) report cannot make you go back to work. The choice to go back to work is entirely your own.
That being said, you should exercise caution before making the decision to
refuse a job offer. If your refusal is determined to be unreasonable, the
workers compensation insurer can cut off your wage loss. In determining
what is considered “reasonable”, the IME looks at the facts of your specific case.
In reviewing your decision, your doctor’s opinion and restrictions will be considered. The judge will also consider additional factors which might be preventing you from going back to work. For example, if you worked nights prior to getting injured so that you could watch your kids during the day, and now the company wants you to go back to work during the day, your refusal will likely be considered reasonable. If you refuse to return because you “aren’t ready” despite being cleared by a doctor, or you don’t want to go back to work for that employer, your refusal will likely be ruled unreasonable.
Minnesota Work Comp Attorney
Listening to the advice of your doctor is generally a good idea, but you should also consult a trained workers’ compensation attorney before refusing any job offers.
After you suffer an
injury on the job, there will be doctors’ appointments and physical therapy as
part of your recovery. If you drive your vehicle to and from medical
treatments, Minnesota law allows for mileage reimbursement. Many injured
workers are unaware that they qualify for medical mileage reimbursement. As a
result, they fail to keep track of their mileage and miss out on a valuable
With today’s gas
prices, you will need reimbursement for trips to the doctor, physical therapy
and to the pharmacy.
How to Get Medical Mileage Reimbursement
As of January 1, 2013,
the medical mileage reimbursement rate is 56.5 cents per mile. This also
includes reimbursement for:
- Public transportation
There is a form to
record your mileage and expenses that you will send to the insurance company.
Generally, you will receive a check within 45 days.
There are certain
mileage restrictions depending on where you live and where your doctor is
located. In addition, there are exceptions if you are medically unable to
travel or if you need a specialty service or treatment. In some instances, your
workers’ comp insurer must reimburse you for lodging and meals if you have to
travel a long distance for treatment.
Free Consultation with an Experienced Minnesota Work Comp Lawyer
compensation system can seem overwhelming to anyone. Your main concern will be
your recovery, so you can return to work and a normal life. Let us help you
with all aspects of your Minnesota workers’ comp claim.
It is easy to contact
one of our workers’ compensation lawyers. You can fill out the contact form on
this site or call one of your offices in the metro at (612) 294-2200 or (651)
777-1811 to schedule a free and confidential consultation. We have two
convenient locations in Minneapolis and Saint Paul. We can also travel to meet
with you at a location nearest you.