After you suffer an injury on the job, there will be doctors’ appointments and physical therapy as part of your recovery. If you drive your vehicle to and from medical treatments, Minnesota law allows for mileage reimbursement. Many injured workers are unaware that they qualify for medical mileage reimbursement. As a result, they fail to keep track of their mileage and miss out on a valuable benefit.
With today’s gas prices, you will need reimbursement for trips to the doctor, physical therapy and to the pharmacy.
How to Get Medical Mileage Reimbursement
As of January 1, 2013, the medical mileage reimbursement rate is 56.5 cents per mile. This also includes reimbursement for:
- Public transportation
There is a form to record your mileage and expenses that you will send to the insurance company. Generally, you will receive a check within 45 days.
There are certain mileage restrictions depending on where you live and where your doctor is located. In addition, there are exceptions if you are medically unable to travel or if you need a specialty service or treatment. In some instances, your workers’ comp insurer must reimburse you for lodging and meals if you have to travel a long distance for treatment.
Free Consultation with an Experienced Minnesota Work Comp Lawyer
The workers’ compensation system can seem overwhelming to anyone. Your main concern will be your recovery, so you can return to work and a normal life. Let us help you with all aspects of your Minnesota workers’ comp claim.
It is easy to contact one of our workers’ compensation lawyers. You can fill out the contact form on this site or call one of your offices in the metro at (612) 294-2200 or (651) 777-1811 to schedule a free and confidential consultation. We have two convenient locations in Minneapolis and Saint Paul. We can also travel to meet with you at a location nearest you.